‘X-Men ’97’: Matthew Chauncey Set As New Writer Of Marvel Animated Series For Disney+

‘X-Men ’97’: Matthew Chauncey Set As New Writer Of Marvel Animated Series For Disney+

EXCLUSIVE: Matthew Chauncey (What If…?) has been tapped to write Season 3 of Disney+’s X-Men ’97, Marvel Animation‘s revival of the classic ’90s animated series, sources tell Deadline.

Chauncey succeeds Beau DeMayo who parted ways with Marvel earlier this year, ahead of X-Men ’97‘s March 20 premiere, after completing work on both Season 1 and Season 2.

Chauncey will work alongside X-Men 97 director Jake Castorena, who has been on the animated followup from the start. Larry Houston and Eric and Julia Lewald, executive produced on the original X-Men: The Animated Series, will remain on as consulting producers. Season 2 of the revival, whose scripts have reportedly been revised, is in production. Season 3 is in development.

Related Stories

X-Men ’97 revisits the iconic era of the 1990s as The X-Men, a band of mutants who use their uncanny gifts to protect a world that hates and fears them, are challenged like never before, forced to face a dangerous and unexpected new future.

The revival launched to critical acclaim and strong ratings, amassing 4M views across the first two episodes in their first five days on Disney+. Season 1 also ended on a high note, with the finale drawing 3.5M views in its first five days, becoming the platform’s most-viewed full-length animation series finale since Season 1 of Marvel’s What If…?

That is probably fitting since X-Men ’97‘s new writer Chauncey comes from What If…? where he has been a writer-producer since Season 1. He also worked on Marvel’s live-action series for Disney+ Mr. Marvel. Chauncey is repped by WME, Writ Large and Behr Abramson Levy Johnson.

The voice cast of X-Men ’97 includes Ray Chase as Cyclops, Jennifer Hale as Jean Grey, Alison Sealy-Smith as Storm, Cal Dodd as Wolverine, JP Karliak as Morph, Lenore Zann as Rogue, George Buza as Beast, AJ LoCascio as Gambit, Holly Chou as Jubilee, Isaac Robinson-Smith as Bishop, Matthew Waterson as Magneto and Adrian Hough as Nightcrawler.