Gotham Awards Winners List – Updating Live

Gotham Awards Winners List – Updating Live

The 32st annual Gotham Awards is underway, and Deadline is updating the winners list live from in-person event at Cipriani Wall Street in Manhattan. You can watch the livestream here.

Todd Field was among the early winners for his screenplay for Tár, which came into the evening with a leading five nominations. See the winners and remaining nominees in all 12 categories, including gender-neutral performer awards, below.

France’s abortion drama Happening scored an upset win for International Film. Director Audrey Diwan, who said she wasn’t prepared and that she was shaking, called out to “all the silent women [who] put their life at risk to defend their initiate choices. … This shouldn’t be happening again.” The Lumière-winning film — which was not submitted for the International Feature Oscar race but was on France’s shortlist — beat out favorites including Ireland’s The Banshees of Inisherin and South Korea’s Decision to Leave. Presented by IFC Films, Happening made its U.S. premiere after the leaked Supreme Court decision abolishing Roe v. Wade but before it became law

The Documentary Feature prize went to All That Breathes, director Shaunak Sen’s film about the two “kite brothers” from Dehli and the birds of prey they rescue from the smog-soaked Indian city. Watch the first film to win Best Documentary at both Sundance and Cannes here.

On the TV side, W. Kamau Bell’s We Need To Talk About Cosby took the Gotham for Breakthrough Nonfiction Series. Ben Whishaw won Outstanding Performance in a New Series for his role as a junior OB/GYM in the AMC+/BBC dramedy This Is Going to Hurt.

Traditionally among the first awards shows of the movie-kudos season, the Gothams honor the best of American film and TV, other than the Best International Feature and Best Documentary. The Best Feature nominees are Focus Features’ Tár; Everything Everywhere All at Once and Aftersun, both from A24; Mubi’s The Cathedral; and Cinema Guild’s Dos Estaciones.

This year’s ceremony will see honorary awards for Michelle Williams and Adam Sandler (Performer Tributes); Focus Features’ Chairman Peter Kujawski and Vice Chairman Jason Cassidy (Industry Tribute); The Woman King filmmaker Gina Prince-Bythewood (Filmmaker Tribute); Audible founder and executive chairman Don Katz (Innovator Tribute); the Venice Film Festival (Gotham Impact Salute) and the groundbreaking actor, filmmaker and activist Sidney Poitier (Icon Tribute), who died in January at 94.

Gotham Awards given to individual films or performers in films where the vision of an individual director, producer, writer or writer/director is abundantly evident, and where the film cannot be classically defined as a “work for hire.” Last year, Netflix’s The Lost Daughter by Maggie Gyllenhaal won Best Feature.

Here are the 2022 Gotham Award winners announced so far, along with the remaining nominees:


Breakthrough Nonfiction Series

We Need To Talk About Cosby
W. Kamau Bell, creator and director; W. Kamau Bell, Andrew Fried, Katie A. King, Vinnie Malhotra, Dane Lillegard, Sarina Roma, Jordan Wynn, executive producers (Showtime)

Outstanding Performance in a New Series

Ben Whishaw in This is Going to Hurt (AMC+ in association with BBC)

Best Documentary Feature

All That Breathes
Shaunak Sen, director; Aman Mann, Shaunak Sen, Teddy Leifer producers (A Sideshow & Submarine Deluxe Release in Association with HBO Documentary Films)

Best International Feature

Audrey Diwan, director; Edouard Weil, Alice Girard producers (IFC Films)

Best Screenplay

Tár, Todd Field (Focus Features)

Breakthrough Performer

Gracija Filipovic in Murina (Kino Lorber)


Breakthrough Series – Short Format (under 40 minutes)

Abbott Elementary
Quinta Brunson, creator; Quinta Brunson, Justin Halpern, Patrick Schumaker, Randall Einhorn, executive producers (ABC)

As We See It
Jason Katims, creator; Jason Katims, Jeni Mulein, Dana Idisis, Yuval Shafferman, Udi Segal, Amit Gitelzon, Shlomit Arvis, Danna Stern, executive producers (Prime Video)

Mohammed Amer, Ramy Youssef, creators; Mohammed Amer, Ramy Youssef, Ravi Nandan, Hallie Sekoff, Solvan “Slick” Naim, Harris Danow, Luvh Rakhe, executive producers (Netflix)

Rap Sh!t
Issa Rae, creator; Issa Rae, Syreeta Singleton, Montrel McKay, Deniese Davis, Dave Becky, Jonathan Berry, executive producers (HBO/HBO Max)

Somebody Somewhere
Hannah Bos, Paul Thureen, creators; Bridget Everett, Carolyn Strauss, Mark Duplass, Jay Duplass, Mel Eslyn, Hannah Bos, Paul Thureen, Patricia Breen, Tyler Romary, executive producers (HBO Max)

Breakthrough Series – Long Format (over 40 minutes)

Soo Hugh, creator; Soo Hugh, Michael Ellenberg, Lindsey Springer, Theresa Kang-Lowe, Richard Middleton, Kogonada, Justin Cho, executive producers (Apple TV+)

Dan Erickson, creator; Ben Stiller, Nicholas Weinstock, Jackie Cohn, Mark Friedman, Dan Erickson, Andrew Colville, Chris Black, John Cameron, executive producers (Apple TV+)

Station Eleven
Patrick Somerville, creator; Patrick Somerville, Jessica Rhoades, Scott Steindorff, Dylan Russell, Scott Delman, Jeremy Podeswa, Hiro Murai, Nate Matteson,executive producers (HBO/HBO Max)

This is Going to Hurt
Adam Kay, creator; Naomi De Pear, James Farrell, Jane Featherstone, Adam Kay, Ben Whishaw, executive producers (AMC+ in association with BBC)

Ashley Lyle, Bart Nickerson, creators; Jonathan Lisco, Ashley Lyle, Bart Nickerson, Drew Comins, Karyn Kusama, executive producers (Showtime)

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award

Charlotte Wells for Aftersun (A24)

Owen Kline for Funny Pages (A24)

Elegance Bratton for The Inspection (A24)

Antoneta Alamat Kusijanovic for Murina (Kino Lorber)

Beth de Araújo for Soft & Quiet (Momentum Pictures / eOne)

Jane Schoenbrun for We’re All Going to the World’s Fair (Utopia)

Outstanding Supporting Performance

Jessie Buckley in Women Talking (United Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures)

Raúl Castillo in The Inspection (A24)

Hong Chau in The Whale (A24)

Brian Tyree Henry in Causeway (Apple TV+)

Nina Hoss in Tár (Focus Features)

Noémie Merlant in Tár (Focus Features)

Ke Huy Quan in Everything Everywhere All at Once (A24)

Mark Rylance in Bones and All (United Artists Releasing / Metro Goldwyn Mayer Pictures)

Gabrielle Union in The Inspection (A24)

Ben Whishaw in Women Talking (United Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures)

Outstanding Lead Performance

Cate Blanchett in Tár (Focus Features)

Danielle Deadwyler in Till (United Artists Releasing / Orion Pictures)

Dale Dickey in A Love Song (Bleecker Street)

Colin Farrell in After Yang (A24)

Brendan Fraser in The Whale (A24)

Paul Mescal in Aftersun (A24)

Thandiwe Newton in God’s Country (IFC Films)

Aubrey Plaza in Emily the Criminal (Roadside Attractions and Vertical Entertainment)

Taylor Russell in Bones and All (United Artists Releasing / Metro Goldwyn Mayer Pictures)

Michelle Yeoh in Everything Everywhere All at Once (A24)

Best Feature

Charlotte Wells, director; Adele Romanski, Amy Jackson, Barry Jenkins, Mark Ceryak, producers (A24)

The Cathedral
Ricky D’Ambrose, director; Graham Swon, producer (MUBI)

Dos Estaciones
Juan Pablo González, director; Ilana Coleman, Jamie Gonçalves, Bruna Haddad, Makena Buchanan, producers (Cinema Guild)

Everything Everywhere All at Once
Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, directors; Joe Russo, Anthony Russo, Mike Larocca, Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wang, producers (A24)

Todd Field, director; Alexandra Milchan, Scott Lambert, Todd Field, producers (Focus Features)